Living On the Edge

of the rain forest takes a certain fortitude and stamina.  Making it through February can take every ounce of imagination and summertime recall.  I know there are places that are certainly colder and snowier and way more desolate but here in the Pacific Northwest it is the lack of sun that starts to make you feel like you just might not make it through.  I think this is something that people who do not live here do not quite understand.

a-crack-of-light

So today when the sun streamed, a robin appeared in my yard and I sat outside on my porch to read the mail, I could see hope on the horizon.  So much hope in fact, I moved dirt, purchased my first round of seeds and ecstatically watched the sun set through the greenbelt out my dining room window.

Leave a Reply

