In the Stitch

Single Crochet / Sc – Insert hook in next stitch as indicated by pattern instructions, draw up a loop, yarn over, draw through both loops on hook to complete stitch.

Half Double Crochet / Hdc – Yarn over, insert hook in next stitch or space as indicated by pattern instructions, draw up a loop, (3 loops on hook), yarn over and draw through all 3 loops on hook to complete stitch.

I’ve started my winter gift making.  I’ve visited the Seattle Yarn Shop twice already.  Trying on colors, fingering, trading, remembering the way my Nana taught me to make a granny square.

Today I used the swift at the yarn shop.  So different from the days I spent holding the yarn around both of my hands, while Nana wound it into a ball.

Last night I sat in the dark and fell back into the rhythm of the hook and the yarn, settling into memory, the loop, yarn over, single stitch, half-double stitch, stitching rounds, stitching rows.  Forgetting I’m not that little girl anymore, only in the rhythm, in the stitch, in the past with Nana showing me how.

Thank you Amy for the reminder and for the afterlife meet up story as we walked crying in the yarn store.  I just realized my meet up place is in the stitch.

Leave a Reply

