Teacher Mama

When I started working at Community School, Autumn was nine months old and I packed her around on my back while I taught my then preschool class. When she was around three years old, she moved over to her own preschool class. She would spend her mornings in her own class and then come back to my class for the afternoons. We have mostly kept this schedule for the past two years.

She is now approaching five and will be in kindergarten next year, which lands her in my class once again. She has most recently been wanting to be in my class full time, so she moved over today for good. My class is a K-2 class, so we’re looking at the beginning of a long stint with me as her teacher. I’m so excited for her and a little nervous – it’s a tricky balance teaching your own child.  I’m wishing and hoping this will be the experience of a lifetime for the both of us.

One Response to “Teacher Mama”

  1. She looks so studious here, but I bet she’s drawing a Zombie Dog.

Leave a Reply

