Oh, So Close

A happy yet sad day. I swear I could hear Helen Reddy’s “I Am Woman, hear me roar in number’s too big to ignore…” (eighteen million that is) spilling out of the white house windows. (I listened to this song on repeat, on my bedroom record player, in my room, the year I turned eight – thanks mom! My little girl dreams are still so very vivid.)

I will gladly turn my focus to Barack. He is also so much of what I want in a president. What he has accomplished is just as significant, but I can’t pretend that I haven’t been dreaming my entire life for a woman to take over in the white house – especially since having a daughter. (I was actually applying to work on her education program in New York the year I became pregnant and moved home.)

So thank you Hillary for showing us how close we can come and that someday it will happen. It has to.

That being said:

Barack Obama for President!

One Response to “Oh, So Close”

Leave a Reply

