Rollerskating Through the Louvre

“There are two sorts of artists, one not being in the least superior to the other. But one responds to the history of his or her own art so far, and the other responds to life itself.”

“What you respond to in any work of art is the artists struggle against his or her limitations.”

~Saul Steinberg

I’ve been working on my novel here and there and I can tell how much I’ve grown as I writer in the past few years because I can even tell if my work is good or not. Well, not every single moment but most of the time. I think it is so much easier to know when other people’s work is good or not because you don’t have that emotional tie to it. One of the hardest things is to admit that what you’ve just placed your soul into, is shiet.

Then I read this and it rings so very true to me:

Kurt Vonnegut asked Syd Solomon,

“How to tell a good picture from a bad one.”

He said, “Look at a million pictures, and you can never be mistaken.”

Vonnegut passed this on to his daughter, Edith Vonnegut, who is a painter and she said she “could rollersate through the Louvre, saying, ‘Yes, no, no, yes, no, yes,’ and so on.”

Yes, I think this is so very true. Because someone else’s work should effect you as gutturally as your own. And that is seen or felt in an instant.

All quotes are from A Man Without A Country by Kurt Vonnegut – A must read. I’m very sad to be finished reading it myself.

Goodnight Kurt, Thank you.

One Response to “Rollerskating Through the Louvre”

  1. Sometimes the thing you feel in your gut is disdain and that can grow into pure passion.

Leave a Reply

