Word Food

Eating around our house isn’t a grand affair, mostly because Autumn detests it. She doesn’t so much detest eating itself, especially if there is sugar involved but the actual act of sitting and just eating seems too lackluster in her opinion. And I actually tend to agree.

I like to read while I eat. I don’t usually do it if I’m at the table with someone else but I’m really into my book and I really wanted to keep reading my book today even though I was trying to get some food down her gullet. So, I introduced one of my favorite eating activities. She was on the verge of lack-of-food frenzy because she was having Lego difficulties when I dared mention food.

There are literally books stacked all over our house. I pointed to the pile next to her and said, “Bring a book into the kitchen. I want to show you something.” This got her attention. I had our food on her little table where we eat together and I already had my book.

As we sat down, I told her about how I sometimes like to read while I’m eating because it is relaxing. So, as we snacked on our carrots, hummus and seaweed, (foods she actually likes that don’t contain sugar – she hates pb&j) we read our books. Occasionally she would sneak a peak from behind her book, like we were getting away with something, and give me a silly grin but we did it and she ate and I read and it was lovely.

And instead of talking once again about food and our bodies and all that crap, I got to read this:

“The arts are no way to make a living. They are a very human way of making life more bearable. Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something.”

~Kurt Vonnegut from A Man Without A Country

Leave a Reply

