Getting Out the Vote

Today we took Autumn to vote at our caucus. The first time we’ve ever had a caucus. A very complicated and confusing process. With a huge dose of peer pressure.

I went in with my nails bitten to the quick and as I sat with five minutes to go, I began to cry because I couldn’t vote for both candidates and I couldn’t decide. My neighborhood is predominantly black and the passion behind the push for Barack was intense.

Autumn kept asking me questions about voting and about who was going to be our next president and who is our “old” president and what we were doing. I told her about Barack Obama, Hillary Clinton, John McCain and George Bush. For some reason she got stuck on John McCain – YIKES!

We have been listening to Sam Cooke at our house and as we were waiting to vote, she started to sing; “I was born by the river, in a little tent. And just like the river, I’ve been running ever since. It’s been a long, long time coming. But I know a Change gonna come.” Oh, my heart about bust.

Barack or Hillary, whomever, go forth and make us proud.

And again, counting this as day 9 – A-Thing-A-Day: Making Change – Day 3!

2 Responses to “Getting Out the Vote”

  1. mushroom moon Says:

    I want Barack to win ._.

  2. Sam still has that effect on people! Glad it helped you make a decision, one way or the other…

    Erik Greene
    Sam Cooke’s Great-nephew
    http://www.OurUncleSam.com

Leave a Reply

