“Mama, Can I Have A Car?”

(Deep intake of breath because in my wee little mind, my three year-old shouldn’t want a car yet – right?)

A: “Where did you get your car, Mama? I want to get one. Did you get it at Fred Meyer?”

Me: “No, we bought it from Grandma Sharon (that is why it is a gold camry!) But you have to be older to drive a car.”

A: “Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! I want a car.”

Me: “You can use your small car in the house to drive.”

A: “Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! I want a big car! Just say “okay” mama, just say “okay.”

(Park. Open car door. Shut car door. Pretend conversation didn’t happen! – We really have to start taking the bus more!)

One Response to ““Mama, Can I Have A Car?””

  1. oh my, they are something else, aren’t they?

    My 5yo dd recently asked “mama, those things you get on your face when you are a teenager, do they hurt?” me: “braces? on your teeth?” her: “no, mama, on your cheeks!” Yikes- she meant pimples! I don’t fuss over my appearance, I don’t primp. Where on earth did she get this from! I think it came from a friend who has a teenaged sister. eeek!

Leave a Reply

